Tuesday Astrology

surfing on through the skies

What on earth do the planets represent in an astrology chart?


So, you’re relatively new to astrology and have probably looked up the excellent www.astro.com website and generated a free chart for yourself. You may even be reading pre-written interpretations about your chart. While these have a purpose and can be fun, developing a deeper understanding of the nuts and bolts of your chart will provide much more opportunity to understand yourself at a deeper level.

The horoscopes we read generally in the paper are based upon the sign the Sun was in when we were born. But the Moon, Mercury, Venus and all of the other planets are very likely in different signs. So for example, while you might be an Aries Sun sign, your moon might be in Pisces. This in itself will add a very different flavour to your personality and approach to the world. When we consider all of the planets and  that they may be in different signs, we start to paint a unique picture of ourselves. Understanding this picture can give us more insight into who we are and how we function.

So some basics on the planets. By no means is any of this extensive or in depth – we could write 11 books about the personal planets, so please bear in mind this is rough sketch of what the planets represent.
What on earth do the planets represent in an astrology chart?
Personal planets
These move relatively quickly around the earth. For example the moon takes only 2 and a half days to move through a sign. The placement of the personal planets in an astrology chart are reflected by our personality.

Sun Ego energy “the hero in you”. Consciousness, vitality, life force.  The sun is a bit like your astrological nationality. The Sun of course is not really a planet, it is “drumroll”…a Sun and the central point of our solar system. In astrology it is referred to as a luminary, or a light. The Sun is the ruling planet of Leo

Moon Emotional energy – how you approach your emotional function. Water, motherhood, emotions, intuition, the feminine, goddess energy. As in the Sun, the moon is referred to in astrology as a light, or luminary. The moon is the ruling planet of Cancer

Mercury  Mental energy. How the mind operates. Short trips, your immediate neighbourhood, facts and figures, cars, information, translation. Mercury is the ruling planet of both Gemini and Virgo

Venus Relating energy, what the heart values. Love, beauty, art, money, creativity. Venus is the ruling planet of Taurus and Libra

Mars Physical and primal energy is expressed through Mars. Warrior energy, sexual energy, stamina, sports, unrelenting focus, burns, accidents, rushing in before thinking. Mars is the ruling planet of Aries

Social Planets
The social planets are the last which are visible to the naked eye. They are less personal and tend to point to matters relating to our place and connection with the world.

Jupiter Good fortune, expansiveness, knowledge, prophecy, higher learning, principles, playfulness, wastefulness, greed, overindulgence. Jupiter is the ruling planet of Sagittarius

Saturn Karma, discipline, authority, tests, lessons, hard work resulting in manifestation. Saturn is the ruling planet of Capricorn

Outer Planets
The outer planets are not visible to the naked eye, and ancient astrologers did not know about them at all. Today, traditional astrologers generally do not see them as significant.

However, most Western astrologers will not underestimate their influence. They move very slowly function on a collective level. They can become important in a natal chart when they are connected by aspect to personal planets.

Uranus Maverick energy, humanitarian ideals, originality, sudden breakthroughs, unexpected happenings, flashes of brilliance, radicalism. Uranus is the ruling planet of Aquarius. Before Uranus was discovered, Aquarius was ruled by Saturn.

Inspiration, compassion, connection to the collective unconscious, poetry, film, art, the psychic realm, social work, martyrdom. Neptune is the ruling planet of Pisces. Before Neptune was discovered, Pisces was ruled by Jupiter.

The god of transformation. Elimination, slow drawn out change, core depths, psychology.Pluto is the ruler of Scorpio. Before Pluto was discovered, Scorpio was ruled by Mars.

Image – Photo: NASA/Tim Pyle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on March 13, 2012 by in Articles, planets and tagged , .

Twitter Updates

%d bloggers like this: